Board of Supervisors


The Board of Supervisors meets on the first Wednesday of each month.

Our next Board of Supervisors meeting is Wednesday December 6th, 2023.

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View the online Agendas and Minutes

  1. Sue Hayes


  1. Matt Collogan


  1. Frank Meares


  1. Evan Folds


  1. Steve Skavroneck

    Associate Member

  1. Tom Boland


  1. Roger Shew

    Associate Member


The New Hanover Soil and Water Conservation District is a governmental subdivision of the State of North Carolina organized to exercise public powers conferred under provisions of the Soil and Water Conservation District Law of North Carolina, Chapter 139, as amended. Under General Statute 139, the District's responsibility is to plan, coordinate and carry out a conservation program within its legal boundaries.

Each soil and water conservation district in the state of North Carolina is administered by a five-person board of supervisors. Three of these supervisors are elected at the same time as the regular election of county officers. This election is nonpartisan and is conducted by the respective county board of elections. Two supervisors are appointed by the North Carolina Soil and Water Conservation Commission upon the recommendation of the local district board of supervisors. All five supervisors serve four-year terms of office.

More Information

The Board of Supervisors meets on the first Wednesday of each month to establish local soil and water conservation priorities based on the needs of the District. Meeting dates are listed on the district's calendar, view the Calendar page. View Board Meeting Minutes and Agendas here.

For more information about the Board of Supervisors, please visit the Division of Soil and Water Conservation webpage.

For more information about becoming a District Supervisor please view the Guide for Prospective Soil and Water Conservation District Supervisors (PDF). Prospective members can email the Soil and Water Department to learn more.